What is the Difference between Divorce and Legal Separation?

Denver Divorce Attorney Compares and Contrasts Legal Separation vs. Divorce

What makes legal separation and divorce different? How are the two similar? In this video, Colorado family law attorney Kathlyn Laraway compares and contrasts the two processes and why separating couples might favor one over the other.

To discuss a divorce or legal separation with one of our knowledgable attorneys, you can call us at (720) 386-9176 or visit this page for help.

Video Transcript:

A legal separation sometimes makes more sense than a divorce in cases where somebody does want to remain on the other person’s health insurance. Other reasons why people get legal separations is for, you know, their own personal beliefs or religious preferences and they don’t feel comfortable getting a divorce. The main difference between a legal separation and divorce is really just that with one, you are divorced, and with one you are not because both take the same amount of time, both cost the same amount of money to go through. They are the same process, the end result is simply that you don’t have a decree of divorce. You have a decree of legal separation. However, after a decree of legal separation is entered, after six months either party can move to change that into a decree of divorce.

To speak to one of our attorneys go to

Divorce Matters® is a Denver Colorado divorce attorney law firm. We provide information and services including the divorce process through the courts, division of marital property, assets as well as debts and parental rights regarding biological and adopted children.

Our highly-accomplished divorce and family law attorneys practice throughout Colorado, including:

Adams County (Arvada, Aurora, Brighton, Thornton, Westminster); Arapahoe County (Aurora, Centennial, Cherry Hills Village, Englewood, Greenwood Village, Littleton); Boulder County; Broomfield County; Denver County; Douglas County (Castle Rock, Highlands Ranch, Lone Tree, Parker); Elbert County (Elizabeth, Kiowa); and Jefferson County (Arvada, Golden, Lakewood, Morrison, Wheat Ridge).